Skip to main content

Ngurra Architectural Design Competition

In March 2022, the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) launched an Architectural Design Competition for Ngurra: The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Cultural Precinct.

AIATSIS would like to congratulate Hassell with Djinjama Collective and Edition Office as the winners of this design competition. 

The competition jury commended Hassell with Djinjama Collective and Edition Office for “it’s commitment to rehabilitation of the site as a statement about the environment and First Nations connection to Country”.

During stage 1 of the Design Competition, AIATSIS received 25 expressions of interest from Australian design professionals with strong track records in delivering culturally significant national projects. From these 25 expressions of interest, the Design Competition Jury selected four design teams to proceed to State 2 and develop concept designs for the precinct.

AIATSIS would also like to congratulate all four design teams on their selection.

  • BVN Architecture with Greenaway Architects and Nguluway Design Inc as Blak Hand Collective.
  • Denton Corker Marshall with Yhonnie Scarce and Kat Rodwell. 
  • Hassell with Djinjama Collective and Edition Office, and
  • Peter Stutchbury Architecture with Allen Jack + Cottier Architects. 

AIATSIS and the Design Competition Jury would like to thank the four design teams for the considerable effort they invested in the competition and recognises the commitment demonstrated by the four selected design teams, particularly given the national significance of the Precinct and complexities of the project requirements.

Following the Albanese Government’s announcement on 6 June 2024 (…), the decision to revamp Ngurra and relocate to the Acton Peninsula means that the winning design can no longer be utilised. 

A new design process will be undertaken, including the four shortlisted design teams, and the architects of the current AIATSIS building (Maraga) on the Acton Peninsula. More information will be made available once this current process is completed. 

For more information please contact: 


Last updated: 07 June 2024