

The Aborigines Advisory Council, meeting in Sydney. Left to right: Ossie Cruse, Bill Naden, Mrs Stewart, Bill Cohen, Tom Williams, Ron Riley, Harry Hall, Les Ridgeway, and Mrs Smith. The Director of Aboriginal Welfare, who has been chairman of the Council but will not be a member of the new Council, is not included in this picture

The New Aborigines' Advisory Council

The Aborigines Advisory Council has been altered and elections for a new Council will be held in the coming months.

The new Council will consist of nine members, all of whom are to be elected by the people. There will no longer be appointed members of the Advisory Council and the Director of Aboriginal Welfare will no longer be a member or chairman.

The Council, which was first set-up in 1970, advises the Minister for Youth and Community Services on matters affecting Aborigines. It makes

suggestions and comments on policies proposed by the Government and presents people's complaints and problems to the Minister.

The change in the organization of the Council came about as a result of the Aborigines (Amendment) Act 1973.

This Act of Parliament, passed in April, also set up the Aboriginal Lands Trust which provides for the granting of land rights in New South Wales. Ownership and control of reserves will be gradually transferred from the Government to the Trust. (See *New Dawn*, February, 1973.)