The Aborigines Advisory Council

This is to have ten members—the Director of Aboriginal Welfare and nine Aborigines living in New South Wales. Of these nine, three (of which one will be a woman) will be nominated by the Minister. The other six will be elected by the Aborigines. There will be four members from country areas and two from the metropolitan area. The members of the Council will receive:

• a fee for loss of wages whilst attending Council meetings.

 \bullet an allowance to cover meals and accommodation.

• their fares or a rail warrant if applicable.

It was felt that this system would repay the Council members without making them dependent salaried people. In this way they will keep their independence.

The Director will be the chairman of the Council and advise its members about procedure and so forth. He will have no vote. Only Aborigines may vote on Council to advise the Minister. They will be responsible for the wisdom and good judgment of their recommendations.

Voting for Aboriginal Advisory Council representatives

If you don't vote, you will get no say as to who is to represent you. That will be too bad for Aborigines. How do you vote? First of all you must *enrol*. Enrolment cards are available from:

• The State Electoral Office, Box 3124, G.P.O., Sydney, N.S.W. 2001.

• The Director of Aboriginal Welfare, Box 18, G.P.O., Sydney, N.S.W. 2001.

• Any field officer of the Department of Child Welfare and Social Welfare.

• Most Aboriginal advancement organizations.

Once enrolments are in, they will serve as a guide for New South Wales to be divided into six districts each of which will elect one member to Council. Details of this will be in later issues of *NEW DAWN*. For the moment, nothing is more important than that you *enrol*. If you are not on the roll, you do not get a vote.

What sorts of things will the Aborigines Advisory Council do?



The first Aboriginal debutante ball ever to be conducted outside the Sydney metropolitan area was held at Casino on 11th July last year. The occasion, marking the National Aborigines Day celebrations, was attended by more than 300 people. Twenty debutantes were presented to Mr R. W. Manyweathers, M.L.C. The debutantes are: Back row (left to right) Julie Kapeen, Sharon Cook, Lola Roberts, Muriel Torrens, Margaret Roberts, Carol Roberts, Lola Rhodes, Marlene Moran, Jenny Mundine, Susan Mundine, Lois Marlowe, Marilyn Daley. Front row (left to right) Susan Roberts, Leone Roberts, Kathleen Cameron, Cheryl Bolt (flower girl), Mrs B. Kapeen, (matron of honour), Mrs Manyweathers, Mr Manyweathers, Mrs B. Thomas, Carmel Kapeen (flower girl), Lyn Bolt, Marjorie Hickling, Maureen Walker, Sandra Roberts, Narelle Walker

NEW DAWN, April, 1970

6