SMOKE SIGNALS

A.M.S. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

In August the Aboriginal Medical Service held its Annual General Meeting. The new office-bearers are Gary Williams, President; Isobelle Coe, vice-President; Eddie Neumann, treasurer; Lyn Thompson, Secretary; and Prof. Hollows, medical adviser. The management committee's chairman is Mrs Elsa Dixon and the committee consists of W. Reilley, Dr M. Asher, Dr J. Ward, and Str S. Richter. Ordinary members of the A.M.S. are W. Craigie, S. Bellear, Dr F. Grunnsiett, P. Coe, A. Phillips, P. Hunter, S. McGuinness, E. Bostok, B. Bellear, B. Egan, C. Morton, B. Maza, L. Monroe, H. George, M. Williams, T. Coorey, A. Weldon, G. Silva, L. Ingram, A. Morgan, A. Coorey, N. Foster, Dr R. Laing, S. Hausman, Str Ignatius, P. Thompson, M. Tuck, M. Parsons, and J. Butcher. The full-time staff of the Medical Service includes 2 doctors, 2 sisters, 2 field officers, 2 nutritionists, I driver, I secretary, and a publicity officer.

► ABORIGINES IN PUBLIC SERVICE

Australian Government departments have been asked to take further steps to facilitate the employment of Aborigines in the Public Service. The Australian Public Service Board has requested departments to examine the possibility of employing Aboriginal staff in positions which involve a significant amount of liaison with the Aboriginal community. The board is aware that many Aboriginal people are reluctant to enter and be served in offices staffed wholly by non-Aborigines. The board has also asked that where such jobs had been identified particular care should be taken in advertising vacancies for these jobs outside the service in a manner which would encourage Aborigines to apply. At the moment the board, in co-operation with various departments, is conducting an Australia-wide survey to identify the numbers, locations, and types of jobs held by Aboriginal staff employed under the Public Service Act. Both of these developments are part of the policy announced by the board in February to increase the number of Aborigines in the Public Service.

▶ PREFECTS AT WEE WAA CENTRAL SCHOOL

The accompanying photo on this page is that of William Toomey and Kerry Toomey of Wee Waa Central School. Earlier this year Kerry and William were elected prefects by their classmates. Both are in third form. Kerry was presented with her prefect's badge by Mr Frank Higgins, District Inspector of Schools for the Gunnedah District; and William received his badge at the ceremony from Mr Mauris Veidelis of Aboriginal Secondary grants. William and Kerry, who are cousins, are the first Aboriginal prefects at Wee Waa Central.

CANBERRA APPOINTS N.S.W. LIAISON OFFICER

Mr Chicka Dixon commenced work in early September as a senior liaison officer with the Australian Department of Aboriginal Affairs. He will be based in Sydney, although responsible to Canberra, and operate throughout New South Wales. Before taking up his new position Chicka was already serving on a number of Government bodies, including the Aboriginal Arts Board, the Homeless Men Committee, and the interim National Aboriginal Consultative Committee. As a liaison officer his responsibility will be to visit Aboriginal communities across the State and report to Canberra.

► NEW SELF-DETERMINATION PROGRAM FOR AMERICAN INDIANS

In June of this year the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs proposed legislation which would have the effect of transfering the administration of all the Bureau's Indian programs from the Government to tribes. Known as the "Indian Tribal Government Grant Act", it proposes that programs and activities now performed by the bureau, be

William and Kerry Toomey of Wee Waa.

