Welcome to ANIRC photo

Presentations now available from ANIRC 2019

26 Aug 2019

Select presentations from the 2019 AIATSIS National Indigenous Research Conference are now available on our website.

Governor General visits AIATSIS

Governor General visits AIATSIS

21 Aug 2019

His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and Mrs Linda Hurley took time out of their busy schedule to visit AIATSIS this week

2019 Stanner Award winner Dr Debbie Bargallie

Racism in the APS examined in award winning thesis

16 Aug 2019

Dr Debbie Bargallie’s thesis, Maintaining the racial contract: Everyday racism and the impact of racial microaggressions on "Indigenous employees" in the Australian Public Service, has been named as the 2019 Stanner Award winner.

Shortlist announced for the 2019 Stanner Award

8 Aug 2019

The shortlist for the 2019 Stanner Award has been announced, with four outstanding finalists now vying for the unique prize.

3.	Josie from Waibene (Thursday Island) in the Torres Strait at her primary school.

Richness and diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia showcased in landmark educational series

31 Jul 2019

Our Land, Our Stories was developed over three years with more than 35 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people contributing stories to the ground-breaking primary school resource.

The Sydney Language now available to a new generation

The Sydney Language now available to a new generation

22 Jul 2019

The Sydney Language is now available to a new generation of Australians thanks to the fundraising efforts of Australian band The Preatures.

Vale Kerry Reed-Gilbert

Vale Kerry Reed-Gilbert

19 Jul 2019

AIATSIS was saddened to hear of the passing of Kerry Reed-Gilbert on the 13th of July, 2019.

Voice Treaty Truth: Let’s work together for a shared future

18 Jul 2019

A reflection on NAIDOC Week 2019 by AIATSIS CEO Craig Ritchie.

Ngunnawal language to greet visitors to Canberra Airport

9 Jul 2019

Visitors arriving at the International terminal of Canberra Airport will be greeted by a Welcome to Country in Ngunnawal, the traditional Aboriginal language of the ACT region.

Ngarinyman dictionary published after 25 year collaboration

3 Jul 2019

Twenty five years of intergenerational collaboration has come to fruition with the publication of the Ngarinyman to English Dictionary.